top of page
Search

I Cannot Throw A Large Cylinder So I Don't Have A Picture Of One

Currently, in my ceramic's class, we are working on a project where we are to create a piece that is thrown and then altered in some way. My idea was to throw a large cylinder, and then add to it to create a fish. My inspiration from this work comes directly from the book of Genesis; I am looking into creating a piece to tell the story from chapter 1 verse 20-22. With that being said, I am not skilled enough to throw that large, so I am in the process of adapting my idea. Instead of throwing the cylinder, this past week I actually accomplished a lot (A lot of things that weren't actually for class.)! I threw 9 salsa bowls and three mugs. The salsa bowls were created with a smooth, white, cone 6 clay; I marbled this clay with my warm brown clay to create the mugs. I hope to carve into them for a beautiful look in the end. I have never created a piece with the natural clay body exposed, but I think I want to do that with these mugs. I also worked on some paper making. For my drawing class, we are creating pieces about memory. Currently, my Grandparents are going through a divorce and selling their house. Some of my earliest and most vivid memories were made with them at their home, so I wanted to preserve these memories through this project. The paper I made was from a mixture of grass from their yard and brown paper bags. This is only step one of a large process, but I am excited to explore this concept more. Storytelling through my artwork has become incredibly important to me over the last few months. Below is a short video of the paper drying on the table (There is a clock ticking noise in the background that I contemplated taking out, but this sound is both comforting and nostalgic to me... I decided I would rather include it.), and I have taken a handful of videos during the process that I hope to make into a video later where I will explain my concept further.





0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page