top of page
Search

You Win Some You Lose Some

This past week in the studio was more successful than previous weeks. I seemed the get my "mojo" back. I am not sure what clicked, but one morning I came into the ceramics studio all by myself and was able to throw a handful of mug bodies. I think I work better independently. When others are around me in my class, especially when they are working on the same project as I, I tend to get overwhelmed. I consider myself to be quite the perfectionist, and maybe that is why I function this way. I feel the need to live up to other's standards as artists; that often puts a lot of pressure on me and the quality of my work. While I say that, an intro class came in during my four hours at the wheel and began working on hand building face jugs. I worked just fine with them in the room, but I also knew that they had little to no idea what throwing even was. They asked me a bunch of questions about what I was doing, and I was very excited to share with them! I love teaching others about artistic processes; I cannot wait to become an art teacher one day. Anyways, I wrote all of this to say that even though I had a really awesome day in the studio... I still managed to brake one of my pieces, and everything else I made was a bit wobbly. As artists, we all most definitely, "win some lose some."


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page